If you are convicted of an alcohol or drug related driving violation, your license or privilege to drive in New York State will be revoked or suspended. However, you may be eligible for a conditional license or a conditional driving privilege if you participate in New York State’s Impaired Driver Program (IDP) (previously known as Drinking Driving Program (DDP)) or an approved out-of-state program.
Your “Order of Suspension or Revocation” from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will indicate a nearby state or county motor vehicle office where you may enroll in the Impaired Driver Program and apply for a conditional license/privilege, if applicable.
Participation in the Impaired Driver Program (IDP) will not prevent, reduce, or delay fines, fees, or penalties imposed under the driver responsibility assessment program.
Click here for further information about the NYS Impaired Driver Program and how you can sign up.
For details relating to the Impaired Driver Program including eligibility and what the program looks like, you may download the attached.
Impaired Driver Program FAQ’s:
The NYS IDP is a prevention-based education program for individuals convicted of a drinking driving related offense. Completion of this 16-hour program spread over 7 weeks will enable qualifying motorists to fulfill court requirements and potentially reduce the length of their suspension period.
If convicted of an alcohol or drug related driving violation, your license or privilege to drive in New York State will be revoked or suspended.
If the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles determines you are eligible, and you do apply, for a conditional license or a conditional driving privilege, you will be mandated to participate in the New York State Impaired Driver Program.
A conditional driving privilege will allow you to legally drive within certain limitations.
The court may also mandate the Impaired Driver Program as a condition of your sentence. This does not guarantee you will be granted a conditional license or conditional driving privileges, but you would still be required to take the program.
In 2011 the NYS Department of Motor Vehicles (NYS DMV) and NYS Office of Alcohol and Substance Abuse Services (NYS OASAS) collaborated to standardize use of IDP curriculum statewide. As a result NYS DMV and NYS OASAS jointly implemented the research-based alcohol and other drug intervention/educational program PRIME for Life (www.primeforlife.org). (As of August, 2016)
This training offers participants the opportunity to gain, knowledge and skills to minimize the risk of further alcohol and/or other drug driving incidents. As a result participants are recommended to develop a personal action plan to identify and address harmful choices that put all New Yorkers at risk for death, injury and other losses.
Motorists with a NYS Driver’s License/Permit, who have been convicted of a DWI/DWAI, must register for the IDP through any NYS Department of Motor Vehicles.
Bring your driver license, unless it has already been taken by the court, or proof of identity with signature and payment (a non-refundable fee) of $75.00* to enroll. Other fees may also be required in certain cases. If placed on probation because of this conviction, you also must bring written permission from the sentencing court or your probation officer, which allows you to apply for a license.
Select the County in which you wish to attend the IDP. The clerk will then give you information regarding the dates, times, and locations of the classes to select from. Participants select their own location with start date.
As an IDP participant, you must attend all seven (7) weekly classroom sessions for a total of 16 hours.
*Subject to change.
To register for the IDP, and you have a NYS license, you must first visit your local NYS DMV office. Your “Order of Suspension or Revocation” from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will indicate a nearby state or county motor vehicle office where you may enroll in the Impaired Driver Program and apply for a conditional license/privilege, if applicable. Please note: the DMV will charge a registration fee ($75.00*) separate from the course fee. The course fee is payable to the chosen IDP program.
The cost of the class itself is $225.00*, payable to the chosen IDP program.
There will be additional fees if you transfer to another program or if you have been dropped from the course and wish to be reinstated.
Participants must cover all costs for evaluation and treatment, if required, which is above the class fee.
*Subject to change.
Insurance does not cover the course fee.
Not everyone is eligible for a conditional license/privilege. Check with your local NYS DMV office.
No. New York State Department of Motor Vehicles does not accept on-line programs at this time.
Contact your local Impaired Driver Program for details.
Contact your local Impaired Driver Program for details at https://dmv.ny.gov/tickets/find-impaired-driver-programs-idp-county
A conditional license/driving privilege is not valid to operate a taxicab or a vehicle for which a Commercial Driver License (CDL) is required.
If you receive a conditional license or conditional driving privilege, you may drive ONLY under the following circumstances:
- to and from your place of employment.
- during the hours of employment if your job requires you to drive a motor vehicle.
- to and from a Motor Vehicle office to transact business regarding the conditional license or Impaired Driver Program (IDP).
- to and from a class or activity that is an authorized part of the IDP.
- to and from a class or course at an accredited school, college or university, or at a state-approved institution of vocational or technical training in which you are enrolled. A conditional license/driving privilege CANNOT be used
- to drive to and from a high school.
- to and from probation activities ordered by the court.
- during an assigned period of three consecutive hours between 5 am and 9 pm once a week. The assigned period will not be changed unless this privilege is amended.
- to and from a medical appointment that is part of necessary treatment for you or a member of your household. You must carry a written statement from your licensed medical practitioner as evidence, and show it to any police officer who asks to see it.
- to and from a child’s school/daycare if the child’s attendance at the school/daycare is necessary for you to maintain employment or enrollment to an accredited school, college or university, or at a state-approved institution of vocation or technical training.
Upon enrollment, a Conditional License/Driving Privilege Attachment (MV-2020) will be issued to you with the conditional license/privilege. This attachment specifically lists the permissible uses of your conditional license/privilege. If you change your scheduled course or transfer to another program, the IDP will generate a Notice of Transfer or a Notice of Reschedule for you to carry with your MV-2020 Conditional License/Driving Privilege showing your new class information. All other changes must be immediately brought to the attention of DMV. To do this, complete a “Conditional License Privilege Attachment” (MV-2020) at a state or county motor vehicle office.
Some IDP participants are referred from the classroom phase for formal substance abuse evaluation. Participants must cover all costs for evaluation and treatment, if required.
The referral can result from:
- Results of a written self-inventory
- Two or more alcohol or drug-related driving convictions within ten (10) years.
- Arrest for an alcohol or drug-related driving violation while enrolled in the IDP.
- Attending class under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- A request by the student for help with a substance abuse problem or an admission that the student is currently in treatment.
You will be expelled from the IDP for failure to attend or satisfactorily participate in the program, failure to pay the required class fee, or failure to satisfy the requirements for participation in the program.
In addition, the conditional license/driving privilege can be revoked for any of the following reasons and you may be required to serve the full suspension or revocation period:
Conviction of any alcohol or drug-related traffic offense, misdemeanor or felony.
Notification to the Department of Motor Vehicles that you are not attempting in good faith to accept rehabilitation.
If you are convicted of ANY traffic violation (including seat belt, cell phone and other violations attributable to the operator) other than parking, stopping, standing, equipment, inspection, or other non-moving violations, where such violations occurred during the period of validity of the conditional license/driving privilege.
Upon receipt of a conviction certificate that indicated that you have driven in violation of the conditional license/driving privilege.
Upon receipt of a conviction certificate that requires mandatory suspension or revocation action.
A finding after a Department of Motor Vehicles hearing that you are operating (or have operated) a motor vehicle in violation of the conditional license/driving privilege.
Upon receipt of additional information that would make you ineligible. This may include more information about the same incident that made you eligible for this program.
For reinstatement contact your original IDP Director/Program. You will be required to pay a $50.00 reinstatement fee to that IDP. Please note that once the fee has been paid, the Director will provide you a letter to take to the local DMV and you will be allowed to register for another IDP class. If it has been over 12 months, you may have to re-take the entire IDP course and pay another class fee.
Contact your local DMV for further details.http://dmv.ny.gov/tickets/re-licensing-after-ddp
Resources: For information about the New York State Impaired Driver Program, you can go to your local DMV or on-line at https://dmv.ny.gov/tickets/about-impaired-driver-program
Source: Impaired Driver Program Director’s Association www.impaireddriverprogram.com